Karma

In life, I believe the loose gist of karma. Not necessarily to the degree that some people may like, with the good triumphing in life and the bad getting their just desserts to the extreme. However, for the bad, I believe that help may not be accessible when they need it, making life harder on themselves. 

For instance, last fall semester I nannied for a family close to my school. My aunt was friends with the family and referred me. By all appearances the family seemed normal, kind, and all-American. However, as time went on, I found out these people were incredibly stingy, wanting me to increase my availability and work without compensation, and extremely ungracious. 

On my last day, the parents of the children I woke up, dressed, and took to school five days of the week for a full semester did not thank me once.  

I recently just began a job in the Career Development department at my school. One aspect of my job is reviewing jobs people in the local community post for students to apply to. I have not had any contact with the family I nannied for until today. When I saw an ad for a new nanny. 

 Not wanting to be vindictive, I approached my superior with the situation. 

She gladly listened to me, and reminded me our department and its job postings are to help students, and place them with good employers. When I expressed I would not encourage any of my friends to apply for this position, she told me to make a note on the account, and delete the position. 

When I was working for this family, I had the temptations to be passive aggressive, I won’t pretend I’m some saint. I thought about stealing all their Keurig coffees, or something petty along those lines. *Note: I thought it, but I never did it! 

But today, when I had the opportunity to protect other students from the same type of crappy job, today felt good. 

Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.” For this family it was too late. I hope they find someone to help with their kids. I hope they have changed. I hope they never treat someone with as much ungraciousness as they did with me. 

Plato stated, “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle.” My revision is, “Be kind to everyone, for one day they may be approving your job.” 

Life truly does go full circle. 

Leave a Reply

