Sovereign

When I was young, I thought the older I got, the easier life would be.

I would be able to drive. Get a job, and be rolling in the dough. I wouldn’t have to ask my parents where I could go.

What I didn’t think of, and really no kid does is what comes along with all these perks of getting older.

Oil Changes & Smog Checks. Taxes deducted from Paychecks. Parents not Giving you Money or Rides.

I believe Christ used the allusion of having “a childlike faith” for a reason. The older I get, the more I want to fight with God.

Because I don’t know the answer to the questions where I scream why.

-Why did he/she break his/her heart?

-Why did they not get accepted to a school they worked so hard to get into?

-Why did they get diagnosed with cancer?

-Why? Why? Why?

I listened to a sermon by Britt Merrick recently entitled “When Sparrows Fall.” His daughter lost her battle to cancer, and the sermon was recorded shortly before she passed away. If anyone has the right to ask God why, it is a man whose daughter has been diagnosed with cancer.

But instead of asking why, he realized he was asking the wrong question. He was questioning a situation we could never comprehend, instead of trusting a God who is sovereign. The premise of the message was Matthew 10:29 “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father” (ESV). He loosely said.

ASKING GOD WHY STRIPS HIM OF HIS SOVEREIGNTY. 

Who are we that we could understand the theological, infinite plans of the one who spoke the world into existence with our finite minds.

This is a discipline. Ask anyone who knows me, I ask God why. In several different languages, my favorite being Spanish “¿¡Porque Dios, Porque?! in an overly dramatic Latina fashion. 😉

However, whenever I am tempted to ask God why, I try to put my faith in Him. That I may trust Him, that He knows what He is doing. That He does not let a sparrow fall to the ground without God knowing it.

*PS Check out the sermon underneath. So much goodness in this.

 http://vimeo.com/58318290

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Sovereign

  1. Ruben Cardenas says:

    Mmm… Amen. This is “Discipleship 101” right here. Something to come to grips with and remind ourselves of, over and over again. Because this is where the rubber meets the road.

  2. Jason says:

    It’s so challenging for us because handing over the title of “Sovereign” – along with all that entails – requires US to get off the throne and give up that title we (naturally) so cherish and protect in our daily lives. I mean come on, we’re Americans! We pretty much have the concept of our Independence tattooed on our foreheads. Yet handing that sovereignty over, that’s a day-by-day, sometimes moment-by-moment choice, but oh baby, is it worth it.

    Keep faith simple, sista!

Leave a Reply

